And when did you last see your sister?

No gym this morning and very strange that I find myself sitting at the computer writing this. It’s 20 years exactly since I last saw Jenny. That was at 7.45 on 31 August 1996, a Saturday morning. I’d already had breakfast and was about to leave to catch my train. Jenny had got up – early for her for a Saturday – to say goodbye and was sitting in her wheelchair. I probably made her a cup of tea. I don’t remember much about the goodbye but expected I’d be seeing her at Christmas, if not before – maybe even for our birthday in November.

6.50pm

A most difficult day. Probably the most difficult day in years – flitting between irritability and tearfulness all day but having to hide it from everyone. I looked up the anniversary of Jenny’s death – 15 October – and saw that it falls on a Saturday this year. What a relief. I usually prefer the 15 October to be buried in a week day at work, but after today I think a bit of solitude is called for.

About Ed Green

Writer and editor, Yorkshire bred, now living and working in Central London. This blog charts the writing of my memoir 'Twinned' - life with and without my disabled sister. It features disability issues, cerebral palsy, traumatic death, bereavement, twinless twins, guest posts, and throws in the occasional 'off topic' post.
This entry was posted in bereavement, death, family, human interest, memoir, twinless twins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

