August Bank Holiday 1996

Looking back at my diary for August 1996, it’s not the best written-up of months, although I’ve stuck to it more rigorously that I have to this blog at times. The August bank holiday that year was Monday 26th. I was staying at Jenny’s but we spent the day doing our own stuff. I headed out to Todmorden and Hebden Bridge – the outer reaches of West Yorkshire; she spent the day with her friends. I’d come back and worked on her front garden – the bungalow itself was ideal for a wheelchair user, but the large front garden with its dozen or so rose bushes, lawn and uncontrollable marestail weed outbreak was a bit much. Pruning, mowing, weeding behind me, I was satisfied we wouldn’t have to worry about it again until spring 1997.

One thing we did do together that Bank Holiday was watching, of all things, a TV documentary on the Carpenters. I don’t think we’d ever watched TV together since our childhood. The content now long forgotten, I vividly remember Jen’s verdict – turning to me afterwards, she said ‘What a waste.’

About Ed Green

Writer and editor, Yorkshire bred, now living and working in Central London. This blog charts the writing of my memoir 'Twinned' - life with and without my disabled sister. It features disability issues, cerebral palsy, traumatic death, bereavement, twinless twins, guest posts, and throws in the occasional 'off topic' post.
This entry was posted in memoir, twinless twins and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

