The tweets that croaked

Ethel Meaker, Eurovision and Turn the Key Softly

Readers of this blog will know that I set it up to publicise Jenny’s story and to write about my experiences of being the non-disabled brother to a disabled twin sister, cerebral palsy, sudden traumatic death, and loads more besides. At the same time I made my forays in the world of Twitter. It takes a lot of getting used to if you start using social media in your mid-40s: how much to say, how much not to say, how often to tweet, what to tweet about, who to follow… are just some of the basic criteria. The ‘who to follow’ one’s a bit tricky when you find hardly any of your friends are on Twitter, which means it’s more of an uphill struggle to get the number of followers even into double figures.

My first tweet was ten weeks ago tonight – on Wednesday 7 October – International Cerebral Palsy Day. And that’s what I tweeted about – with my follower count of nought. It got two likes and one follow. Tonight @egesq stands at 421 tweets and 652 followers. I’m quite pleased with that, especially as it’s put me in touch with people involved with the issues I care about.

I find blogging easier than Twitter, I write what I care about: I have a clear agenda and allow the odd off topic post for good measure. With Twitter, it’s more about opening up about the ordinary, even mundane actions. There’s less of a structure, a less defined readership and that 140-character limit is the nemesis of the verbose.

As a bit of fun, here, picked at random, are three of my good tweets that bombed:

Picturesque London Street, Joan Collins, gritty social film – what’s not to like. Clearly everything: no retweets, no favourites.

Eurovision’s cheeky decision to include Australia permanently in spite of geographical reality gave me an excuse to link to a particularly naff YouTube video. I make no apologies for being partial to this cheese but somehow thought it’d get a response – even if it was Twitter’s take on the slow hand clap.

Energetically shrill, utterly over the top, camp as Christmas and such fun, this should be a winner. It wasn’t.

There’s no telling what will interest people or prove popular. But what I have learnt is to be consistent, tweet regularly, be curious about and helpful to others, and just be myself.

About Ed Green

Writer and editor, Yorkshire bred, now living and working in Central London. This blog charts the writing of my memoir 'Twinned' - life with and without my disabled sister. It features disability issues, cerebral palsy, traumatic death, bereavement, twinless twins, guest posts, and throws in the occasional 'off topic' post.
This entry was posted in human interest, lifestyle, memoir, off topic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

